Medgar Evers, a portrait via his statue

 

Medgar Evers, a portrait via statue

On June 12th, 1963, civil rights leader and the first Mississippi NAACP field officer Medgar Evers was shot in his drive-way in Jackson, Mississippi. He died less than an hour later at a local hospital. It took over thirty years for his murderer to be brought to justice.  Learn more about his life and legacy here.

On June 28th, 1992, The Medgar Evers Statue Fund Inc. erected a statue of him outside of a public library bearing his name, on a street which also honors his name.

I always feel a little strange photographing a statue, especially a more recent one like this. I would call it a type of collaboration, but I do not know the original sculptor of the statue and could find no credits in my research. If you know who it is, please leave a comment or email me so I can correctly edit this post and give credit to the original artist.

I actually would love to do a series of portraits showcasing current and past civil rights leaders of all races. I admit, I get some really odd looks when I talk about it.

“Freedom has never been free… I love my children and I love my wife with all my heart. And I would die, die gladly, if that would make a better life for them.”
―Medgar Evers

Leave a Reply

