So, what’s been going on…?

So, it has been just a bit since my last post, let’s get a quick update.

I’ve done a few photo sessions with musicians, artist, and models over the last few weeks, nothing that I am ready to post. I also turned down a couple of higher profile gigs on principle, and I felt damn good about it. Moral of the story, if you want to ask a photographer to cover your big event be prepared to pay them. If you offer a meal as payment you’re going to get what you paid for. I would say that I had never been so insulted in my life, but I have.

On the writing front, I’ve got a couple of short stories in the works, a novella and what may be a novel. Sound like I have too much going on? Well, it really isn’t. I work on one for a few days and then shift gears, have a palate cleanser, and jump on another for a few days; wash, rinse repeat. It works for me, but I’ve had a few people comment that it was just an excuse not to finish anything. That might be true if I did not have anything finished, but I do.

On October 8th I submitted one of my short stories to a Tor.com for publication. It scared the hellout of me hitting the send button, but I did it. It’s a solid little fantasy tale, nothing groundbreaking, but fun. It’s set in a little world I’ve been puttering around for a while and I was glad to send it out. It underwent some drastic editing; I cut over 1500 words from it to prepare it for another publisher, changed my mind and submitted it to Tor. If it gets picked up I will be ecstatic, if not, I’ll send it out again. Once it gets shot down enough I may put it up here.

Now one of my big decisions over the next few weeks is if I am going to participate in National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. I’ve heard good and bad about it but I am on the fence. I’ve got a pretty good routine down, and I wonder if it would disrupt it. I do slide from project to project, so I’ve really got to think on it.

There’s not really much else going on. I hope to have some images from some of my recent photo shoots up on the Flickr page soon, and I’m always watching Twitter.

Till next time, peace and God bless,
Stacy

Leave a Reply

